“The 5 Sins of Storytelling” – FREEBIE

Story writing can be easy!

“The 5 Sins of Storytelling” is a free excerpt from Laurie Alberts book, “Showing and Telling”. You can get it here.

http://www.writersdigest.com/how-to-write-a-story?et_mid=611179&rid=233035403

I am ashamed. My stories are a perfect example of the 5th sin – Sentimental Scenes.

No shit…

He lay his hand on her head, brushing her brown locks back. The retriever leaned into his hand.

“Hey.”

Her eyes closed, and her body relaxed into the cushion. He continued petting her until she was cold.

She was buried in the backyard, under the sycamore tree.

Blech. Look at that. And I TRIED NOT TO MAKE IT SENTIMENTAL OR CLICHE. WHY. WHY. WAHHHHHHHH.

………..

Don’t worry.

We’ll work hard.

We’ll *sob* get better at it.

4 thoughts on ““The 5 Sins of Storytelling” – FREEBIE

  1. I want that. And, I bewieve in wou, Peanut! You can do it! Though, that is definitely your sin. *nods all sage like*

So! Tell me what you think.