rewriting

It suddenly occured to me to go back and check the wordcount for the story that I am rewriting. Here was my first thought.

WHAT!?!?!? DO I REALLY PLAN ON REWRITING 86,283 FREAKING WORDS!?!?!?

And THAT, dear friends, isn’t even the COMPLETE story! THE COMPLETE STORY – *cries* – THE COMPLETE STORY IS LONGER!

Okay. I need to breathe out. Breathe in. Calm down. Remember WHY I’m rewriting the story – because I am an idi- ok. No more of that talk.

Breathe.

I’m rewriting the story because I love it from the bottom of my heart and I want to do the very best I can with it.

That is the reason why. Also because I am a stinking perfectionist.

This has made me realize that, even if I NaNoWriMo, I will only write 50,000 words of the story. At the pace I’m going, It actually won’t be that horrible completing 50,000 words.

I pledge, during the month of November, to finish my book by writing about 3,500 words a day. If I do not…. Hahaha! NaNoWriMo has no repurcussions for not finishing the book! Mwahahaha!  If I do not… I will have failed myself as a writer. Begins Nov 2 Ends Nov 30.

100,000 words, here I come.

Now I ask you – Is this realistic?

 

12 thoughts on “rewriting

  1. You think you’re crazy? I’m going to rewrite a story that is 145,000+ words, so who is the crazy one? Of course, I do not know when, but I’m going to, and start another story now that my break has begun, or finish one I have begun that is about 10 pages….. Anyway, good luck! Uh, pledge time…… Okay, let’s try it out. But I don’t know how to italicize it, though, sooo…..

    I pledge, during the months of November and December, to take a break from typing fanfiction and write my actual stories, whatever one that may be, and get the portfolio done before January. If I fail, then I have to take a month longer break from typing fanfiction.

    Sheesh, I would soooo hate that TT_TT. Guess that just means I have to do it.

    • Ah! But in this contest of craziness, I’m doing it in a month! *looks triumphant* *realizes what she’s said* *depressed* Thank yous for the luck! And good luck with all of your projects!

      YAY! PLEDGY! I shall put this up! XD I reeeealllly want to read CS so I will remind you! *nods firmly* FIGHT! XD

      • This version is the rewrite of the original, so I’m rewriting it again, and the last time I was writing at least a chapter a day, and there are 20-some chapters, so yeah, my limit was a month as well. So beat that buttmunch!

        Oh, I’ll probably have a chapter or so done by November 24 because now I am writing it on paper and typing my actual stories. Though nothing shall be published!

      • -_- Ah! Well I am not rewriting Kokoro’s story! I’m finishing it from where I left off with Kokoro Uchiha! So all the stuff that was in suspense when I left off? I have it written! *evil laugh* But I’m not going to show it to anyone! *evillaughtimesamillion* And yes, this has nothing to do with writing more, besides the fact that I am trying to finish her story in a freaking month. XD

    • And I want to know what exactly it is about the new stuff on CS that I would write/like! So complete your pledge properly! Ah, am I supposed to be pledging now? Hmmmmm. Ah! Let’s try that one I dropped a while back!

      I, Miyake Masumi, pledge to read at least one chapter of Naruto daily UNTIL I CATCH UP! Seeing as I am currently on chapter 500, and there are currently 607, that should take me approximately 107 days, or about fifteen weeks, which would be almost four months. But because Naruto updates weekly, one must add fifteen chapters/days onto it, so it would be 122 chapters in 122 days, which will be Tuesday, March 5, 2013. If I’m not caught up by then, um, I don’t get to write a fanfiction I’m really raring to fight. *realizes how far away that is and is full of despair* Yosh! I’m changing it to two chapters a day, so let’s recalculate! Two chapters at day at 107 chapters will take me 54 days. 54 days is the equivalent of 7-8 weeks, so let’s add on 8 chapters, making it 115 chapters in 58 days, which will be Tuesday, January 1, 2013. Ah! Perfect! This can be my New Years resolution! Kind of! Ah, I’ve never actually done a New Years resolution even once in my life. Is that strange? Ah, my pledge has become such a mess! Let me try again!

      Yosh! I, Miyake Masumi, pledge to read at least two chapters of Naruto daily UNTIL I CATCH UP! As I am currently on chapter 500, and there are currently 607 chapters out and translated, that should take me 54 days, which is the equivalent of 7-8 weeks. Naruto being a weekly manga, I add 8 chapters to my final goal and come up with a time frame of 58 days to read 115 chapters. My end date will then be Tuesday, January 1, 2012. If I do not complete this pledge, I will never be able to write a fanfiction I am raring to write. Each day I do not complete my goal I will have to complete that days goal along with my normal goal the next day as well as read one extra chapter, making it five chapters. For each consecutive day I go without completing my goal I must add on three chapters (the original two and one extra) to the day I finally get around to reading. How’s that?

  2. You’re probably a little crazy, but sometimes it takes crazy to be successful.
    I’m bypassing NaNo this year because I have my Creative Writing journal to complete for one of my modules, so I really don’t have the time to write an additional 1667 words per day.

    Good luck 🙂

    • Thank you. ^_^ Good luck to you too! Ah, that first bit is really motivating. If it’s a little crazy, then I have no problems with that. XP Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

So! Tell me what you think.

