Kimi ni Todoke: Reaching You (Anime)

Kimi Ni Todoke is an anime(see definition at bottom) about a shy girl named Sawako Kuronuma, nicknamed Sadako after a character from a famous horror movie because she looks scary and gloomy. There are rumors that she can see ghosts, and that if you hold eye contact with her or sit next to her, bad things will happen to you. As such, she is avoided like the plague.

Even when she’s trying to be helpful she comes off as scary!

In reality, Sawako is a sweet and helpful girl who’s motto is “Do one nice thing a day!”  Every day, without fail, she greets all those that she meets, even if it results in them running away from her.

Cute!

Her goal is to become like her idol, an extremely cheerful and likeable boy, Shota Kazehaya. He’s extremely popular, and at first, the only person who treats Sawako normally.

The story follows Sawako as she, with the help of Kazehaya, changes the perceptions of the people around her, one step at a time. A sweet and innocent pairing blossoms between the two, only adding the cuteness of this gem of an anime.

This is Kazehaya blushing after he tried holding a staring contest with the oblivious Sawako!

This is an extremely cute and light hearted anime that has  COMPLETELY won me over. I love the air-headed and naive ways of Sawako, and the ways in which she interacts with the people around her, always facing forward. There are many serious moments in the anime as well, which only add to its depth. The art blows you away. I have yet to see if there is an English Subbed version, but I’ve been watching the Dubbed version and LOVE it. I’d definitely recommend checking it out because I am completely in love with this amazing anime! This is one anime that has me on a roller coaster ride, either down and worried about Sawako, or up and marveling at her cuteness.

Kimi Ni Todoke

I have yet to check out the manga, but I’m sure it’s just as good – if not better.

The Manga

Oh, and, for those of you who don’t know – an anime is a Japanese cartoon, like Avatar, and a manga is a Japanese comic book. Like movies and books, anime and manga vary in genre and audience. They’ve become quite popular all over the world, and their counterparts include Korean Manhwa and Chines Manhua.

This is my first review of pretty much anything, so any advice would be appreciated!

Have you finished your pledge today?

Do you have any cartoons that you like as well? Have you ever found a particular character of any series especially endearing?

6 thoughts on “Kimi ni Todoke: Reaching You (Anime)

  1. Great review! I think I might see this anime 🙂 A character I personally find endearing is Yuki Nagato from Haruhi Suzumiya. I just love her mysterious, introverted personality & alien-ness xD

    • Thank you! I’m glad you liked it, and, trust me,Kimi Ni Todoke is perfect if you’re searching for something extra sweet. XD I’ve heard alot about Haruhi Suzemiya! I’ll make sure to check it out soon, and thank you for telling me~
      less than three~
      Rowan S. R.

  2. Kimi ni Todoke! You know Kimi ni Todoke!? Is this a new thing for you!? Ah, gosh, it’s been so long since I read that! I want to read it again now! Thank you for reminding me of this awesomely amazing manga, though (you know me *rolls eyes*) I haven’t yet watched the anime. I actually had my test on more knife cuts today, including the tournet. 😛 And I got a 4.5 out of 5 points on my tournets! *cheerful cheerful cheerful*

  3. Pingback: Finding the Invisible God in…Kimi ni Todoke «

So! Tell me what you think.

